Viking Athletics

SJR State College
Athletic Association

 ROSS JONES - Athletic Director/Head Baseball Coach
  Home > Contacts > Biography


Ross JonesRecord at SJR State entering 2017: 273-148
NJCAA Region 8 / FCSAA State Tournament Appearances - 2010, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016
Mid-Florida Conference Championships - 2013, 2014, 2015

Ross Jones joined the St. Johns River State College coaching staff as the head baseball coach on June 10, 2008 and assumed the position of athletic director on June 1, 2009. After eight seasons at SJR State, Jones has an overall record of 273-148 (.648) and a Mid-Florida Conference record of 120-69 (.635). These eight seasons have been among the program’s most successful in its 55-year history and include three consecutive Mid-Flor­ida Conference Championships and four trips to the FCSAA State/ NJCAA Region 8 Tournament.

During Jones’ first season at the helm, he led the Vikings to a 33-17 record and a fourth place finish in the Mid-Florida Confer­ence. In 2010, the Vikings returned to the FCSAA State/NJCAA Region 8 Tournament for the first time since 1989 after finishing second in the Mid-Florida Conference. In 2013, the Vikings won their first Mid-Florida Conference Champi­onship since 1977, followed by a second consecutive Mid-Florida Conference Championship in 2014 with an overall record of 37-14 and a 20-4 conference record.

2015 was a special season! The Vikings enjoyed the best season in school history, finishing 47- 10 overall 19-4 in the Mid-Florida Conference. The 47 wins smashed the former school record of 38 wins in a season. The Vikings captured their third straight Mid-Flor­ida Conference Championship and finished third at the FCSAA/NJCAA Region 8 Tournament. On March 18, the Vikings also climbed to the top of the NJCAA National Baseball Poll, ranking #1 in the country for the first time in school history.
2016 was another outstanding season as the Vikings posted an overall record of 42-14. In the Mid-Florida Conference the Vikings posted a 16-7 record to finish in 2nd place. The Vikings also made their 4th consecutive trip to the NJCAA Region 8 / FCSAA State Tournament where the Vikings finished 4th overall.

Eighty-one of Jones’ Vikings have transferred to four-year colleges after finishing their eligibility at SJR State. Some of the NCAA Division 1 schools that have signed players from SJR State include Florida State, Tulane, East Carolina, Mis­souri, Mississippi State, Alabama, Virginia, South Florida, North Flor­ida, Western Kentucky, South Ala­bama, Georgia Southern and Stet­son. Some of the NCAA Division 2 schools that have signed SJR State players include national powers Tampa, Florida Southern, Valdosta State and West Florida.

Jones began his coaching career as an assistant to Dusty Rhodes at the University of North Florida, where he spent a total of three seasons in two separate stints (1993 and 2000-2001). He spent six seasons as an assistant coach at Vanderbilt University (1994-1999), serving as the pitching coach and recruiting coordinator. Jones also spent six seasons as the pitching coach and recruiting coordinator at the University of Florida under Head Coach Pat McMahon. As a recruiting coordinator at Vander­bilt and Florida, Jones helped sign some of the most talented play­ers, not only in Florida, but across the nation. Seven of his recruiting classes were ranked in the top 25 nationally, with three in the top 10. His 2003 and 2005 recruiting classes at the University of Florida were both ranked number three in the nation by Collegiate Baseball Mag­azine.

As a pitching coach, Jones has tutored 58 pitchers who have gone on to sign professional con­tracts, including Clinton Johnston, the Pittsburgh Pirates’ number one draft pick in 1998. Also, nine of Jones’ pitchers have received All-American honors, including Todd Ewasko, the NCAA Division 2 National Pitcher of the Year in 2001, and Justin Hoyman, the Southeast­ern Conference Pitcher of the Year in 2004. While Jones was coaching at the University of North Florida in 2000 and 2001, the Ospreys won consecutive Peach Belt Confer­ence crowns and appeared in back-to-back NCAA Division 2 College World Series. UNF finished third in the nation both years. Jones also played a major role in the Univer­sity of Florida’s 2005 Southeast­ern Conference championship and the Gators’ post-season run to the NCAA Division 1 College World Series, where the Gators played in the National Championship Series against the University of Texas.

Jones is a 1984 graduate of Palatka High School and was selected by the Texas Rangers in the 1984 Major League Baseball amateur draft. He spent seven seasons pitching for the Texas Rangers and Montreal Expos minor league systems. After retiring from professional baseball, Jones earned his A.A. degree from SJR State in 1991 and his bachelor’s degree in education from the University of North Florida in 1993. Jones is an avid outdoors-man and enjoys hunting and fishing in his spare time. Ross and his wife, Tish, have two sons, Tyler and Hunter, and two daughters, Taylor and Tessa.


SJR State Players selected in the MLB draft

Nic Dellatorre, Los Angeles Angels (2012, 30th Round)
Chris Fern, San Francisco Giants (2012, 27th Round)
Jake Schrader, Atlanta Braves (2013, 27th Round)
C.J. Robinson, Florida Marlins (2013, 12th Round)
Tyler Humphreys, Arizona Diamondbacks (2014, 7th Round)
Reid Love, Baltimore Orioles (2015, 10th Round)
Myles Straw, Houston Astros (2015, 12th Round)
Nathaniel Lowe - Tampa Bay Rays (2016 - 13th Round)
Pearson McMahan - Pittsburgh Pirates (2016 - 19th Round)

FCSAA All-State
Jake Schrader (2010 – 2nd Team)
Blake Swann (2013 – 1st Team)
Mitchell Cody (2014 – 1st Team)
Tyler Humphreys (2014 – 1st Team)
Josh Garcia (2014 – 2nd Team)
Dustin Hersey (2014 – 2nd Team)
Nathaniel Lowe (2015 – 1st Team)
Myles Straw (2015 – 1st Team)
Kyle Kalbaugh (2015 – 1st Team)
Dustin Hersey (2015 – 2nd Team)

FCSAA Player of the Year
Nathaniel Lowe (2015)

FCSAA Fireman of the Year
Chris Fern (2011)

FCSAA Scholar Athlete of the Year
Matt Pennington (2013)
Johnny Blue-Craig (2015)

NJCAA All-Americans
Tyler Humphreys (2014 – 3rd Team)
Nathaniel Lowe (2015 – 1st Team)
Kyle Kalbaugh (2015 – HM)

NJCAA Academic All-Americans
Matt Pennington (2013)
Jose Hernandez (2014)
Johnny Blue-Craig (2015)
Omar Villaman (2016)

MFC Player of the Year
Tyler Humphreys (2014)
Nathaniel Lowe (2015)
Kyle Kalbaugh (2015)

MFC Pitcher of the Year
Marshall Stalvey (2009)
Mitchell Cody (2014)

MFC Fireman of the Year
Chris Fern (2011)
Tyler Carr (2015)

MFC Defensive Player of the Year
Casey Eddinger (2013)
Myles Straw (2015)

All Mid-Florida Conference

Marshall Stalvey – 1st Team
Nick De La Osa – 1st Team
Monte Ketchum – 2nd Team
Jesse Piccolo – 2nd Team
Austin Flores – 2nd Team

Will Breton – 1st Team
Jesse Piccolo – 1st Team
Jake Schrader – 1st Team
Jarrell Rodgers – 2nd Team
Chris Fern – 2nd Team
Austin Flores – 2nd Team

Chris Fern – 1st Team
Jake Schrader - 2nd Team
Max St. Hilaire – 2nd Team

Nic Dellatorre – 2nd Team
Casey Eddinger - 2nd Team

Reid Love – 1st Team Pitcher
Blake Swann - 1st Team
Tyler Humphreys - 1st Team
Reid Love – 2nd Team Outfielder
Shawn Sanders – 2nd Team
Matt Pennington – 2nd Team

Mitchell Cody – 1st Team
Dustin Hersey – 1st Team
Trae Ratliff – 1st Team
Josh Garcia - 1st Team
Myles Straw – 1st Team
Will Mackenzie – 1st Team
Tyler Humphreys – 1st Team
Patrick Duester - 2nd Team
Shawn Sanders – 2nd Team

Kyle Kalbaugh - 1st Team
Dustin Hersey - 1st Team
Myles Straw - 1st Team
Nate Lowe - 1st Team
Kyle Hann - 2nd Team
Andy Toelken - 2nd Team
Wes Weeks - 2nd Team
Hunter Alexander - 2nd Team

Omar Villaman - 1st Team
Alec Dowell - 1st Team
Andy Toelken - 1st Team
Tyler Carr - 1st Team
Wes Weeks - 2nd Team
Nick Koslowski - 2nd Team
Pearson McMahan - 2nd Team
Nick Owens - 2nd Team